View to Jerusalem old city. Israel.jpg

About

Author: Travel homes

Why a blog

I have created a blog on the Israel-Palestine issue to analyze the positioning of key players such as the Government of Israel and the opposition parties and pressure groups in Israel, the Palestinian Authority and Hamas, the United States, the European Union, Muslim states, international organizations, the Jewish diaspora and certain pressure groups. There are few French-language blogs in Canada that attempt to analyze the situation on the basis of convincing facts and to understand and attempt to deduce the leeway of the key players affecting the Israel-Palestine issues.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The blog contains my own articles, most of which were published in the Quebec media. In the case of the Huffington Post Quebec, my articles were published under the name David D Cohen. It also contains references to articles, podcasts and videos of interest published in international media, both French and English, around the world.

 

The principles underlying my analysis are: democracy and respect for international law, and for human and minority rights. My analyzes are based on convincing facts taking into account, among other things, national and electoral interests and personalities to explain the behavior of key players.

About David Cohen

I hold graduate degrees in business administration and economics from the École des Hautes Études Commerciales (University of Montreal) and I pursued doctoral studies in Community and Regional Planning at the University of British Columbia (UBC).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I have worked as an economist, policy advisor, senior executive, and chief of staff or consultant, in the federal and provincial governments and in the municipal and private sectors.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Within the Canadian government, I worked for central agencies (Privy Council Office, Treasury Board Secretariat) and operational departments (industry, regional development), both in Ottawa and Montreal. The Privy Council, I have worked as a director of the Montreal office during the Charlottetown constitutional negotiations in the early 90s.

david cohen.jpg

At the provincial level, I worked as Chief of Staff and Special Advisor for the Ontario Ministry of Intergovernmental Affairs and as a senior executive for Montreal International and the Institut de gérontologie sociale du Quebec.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I have acted within the Federation of Canadian Municipalities as director of economic, social and intergovernmental policies.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I ran the Ottawa office of DPRA, a North American consulting company, and acted as an executive consultant to the Applied Social Research Society in Ottawa, in the area of ​​public program evaluation.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I have lectured in the fields of regional and municipal development and the evaluation of public programs and published in scientific and professional journals. I have also published articles since 2016 on the Israeli-Palestinian question in the mainstream Quebec media such as Le Duty, La presse + and Huffington post Quebec.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Retired since 2014, I am a member of the board of directors of the Canadian Friends of Peace Now, Montreal Chapter, a progressive Canadian Jewish organization that advocates for peace and a negotiated solution for two states, one Jewish. and the other Palestinian, living in peace side by side. In this blog, however, I express myself in a personal capacity.

View to Jerusalem old city. Israel.jpg

À Propos

Auteur: Maisons du voyage

Pourquoi un blogue

J'ai créé un blogue sur le thème Israël-Palestine afin d'analyser le positionnement des acteurs-clés tels que le gouvernement d’Israël et  les  partis d’ opposition et groupes de pression en Israël, l’ Autorité Palestinienne et le Hamas,  les États- unis, l’Union européenne, les états musulmans, les organisations internationales,  la diaspora juive et certains groupes de pression.  Il existe peu de blogues francophones au Canada qui s’efforcent d’analyser la situation sur la base de faits probants, de comprendre et de tenter de déduire les marges de manœuvre des acteurs-clés touchant les enjeux Israël-Palestine.

Le blogue contient mes propres articles dont la plupart furent publiés dans les médias québécois. Dans le cas du Huffington Post Québec, mes articles furent publiés sous le nom David D Cohen. Il contient aussi des références à des articles et vidéos d' intérêt publiés  dans les médias internationaux  tant francophones qu'anglophones dans le monde.

 

Les principes sous-jacents à mon analyse sont : la démocratie et le respect du droit international, et des droits de la personne et des minorités. Mes analyses se basent sur des faits probants en tenant  compte, entre autres, des intérêts nationaux et électoraux et des personnalités pour expliquer les comportements des acteurs-clés.

À Propos de David  Cohen

Je suis titulaire de diplômes de 2e cycle en administration des affaires et en économie de l’École des Hautes Études Commerciales (Université de Montréal)  et j’ai poursuivi des  études  de doctorat en Community and Regional Planning à l’Université de Colombie-Britannique (UBC).

J’ai œuvré  à titre d’économiste, de conseiller de politiques, de  cadre supérieur et de chef de cabinet ou de consultant,  au sein des gouvernements fédéral et provincial et dans les secteurs municipal et privé.

Au sein du gouvernement canadien, j’ai travaillé pour des agences centrales (Bureau du conseil privé, Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor) et des ministères opérationnels (industrie, développement régional), tant à Ottawa qu’à  Montréal. Au Conseil privé, j' ai oeuvré à titre de directeur du Bureau de Montréal pendant les négociations constitutionnelles de Charlottetown au début des années 90.

david cohen.jpg

Au niveau provincial, j’ai travaillé  comme chef de cabinet et conseiller spécial pour le Ministère des Affaires intergouvernementales de l’Ontario et comme cadre de direction pour Montréal International et l’Institut de gérontologie sociale  du Québec.

J’ai agi, au sein de  la Fédération canadienne des municipalités, à titre de directeur des politiques économiques, sociales et intergouvernementales.

J’ai dirigé le bureau  d’Ottawa de DPRA, une  compagnie de consultation nord-américaine et agi comme consultant-cadre auprès de  la Société de recherche sociale appliquée à Ottawa, dans le secteur de l’évaluation des programmes publics.

J’ai donné des conférences dans les domaines du développement régional et municipal et de l’évaluation de programmes publics et publié  dans des revues scientifiques et professionnelles. J’ai aussi publié de nombreux articles depuis 2016 sur la question israélo-palestinienne dans les médias québécois grand public tels que Le devoir, La presse+ et le Huffington post Québec.

Retraité depuis 2014, je suis membre du conseil d’administration des Amis canadiens de La Paix maintenant, chapitre de Montréal, une organisation sioniste progressiste canadienne qui milite en faveur de la paix et d’une solution négociée pour deux états, l’un juif et l’autre palestinien, vivant en paix côte-à-côte. Dans ce blog, je m’exprime toutefois à titre personnel.